Salute to Philly Boxers - Awardees

This page will show current awardees
and previous boxers of the year.


Danny "Swift" Garcia
2013 Boxer of the year

New annual award - The "Smokin' Joe Frazier Memorial Spririt Award was presented to - Marvis Frazier 
the 1st one was in 2012)

– Allen Rubenstein 2011, 2012 & 2013

–  Steve Smoger 2011, 2012 & 2013

– Joey Eye & David Feldman

– Angel Garcia 

– Mark Cipparone - Club 1957 Management


Blast from the Past
– "Terrible" Tim Witherspoon

Boxing Writer
– George Hanson

Cut-man -
13th consecutive year - Joey Eye
Promoter - Joey Eye & David Feldman

Fan of the year - Norman (the champ)

Most tolerant spouse - ?

Boxing facility - Rocco's Gym                                                  

Frank Cappucino
Legendary Referee

Bernard "The Exercutioner" Hopkins
Boxer of the year for 7 times

Special Awards by:
Dave Wilkes

2013 - Boxing champions - past & present

2012 - Smokin' Joe Frazier Memorial Spirit Award

2011 - Retirement award for being a sports/boxing writer

Mr. Elmer Smith

2008 - A retirement from being a referee award for the great and legendary
Mr. Frank Cappucino. 

2009 - A retirement from being a referee award for the also great and legendary
Mr Rudy Battle.  Now state athletic commissioner.

2010 - A dedication award to the memory of
Pete Shafik Lyde, Jr.

2011 - Inspirational award to Dewey Bozella
            Retirement award from sports writing to Elmer Smith
            Ringside Doctor -
Dr. Steinberg


2007 banquet was dedicated to WOMEN in boxing in the Philadelphia surrounding area.

Left to right - Elizabeth Cunningham, Venoca Micheals, Rose Vargus, Lucille Fletcher,
Dave Wilkes (promoter), Sharron Baker, Lynne Carter, Velma Garret


Past Boxers Of The Year

1997  Charles "The Hatchet" Brewer

1998  Ivan "Mighty" Robinson

1999  David "The American Dream" Reid

2000 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2001 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2002 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2003 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2004 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2005 Zahir Raheem

2006 Demetrous Hopkins

2007 Eddie Chambers

2008 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2009 Bernard "The Executioner" Hopkins

2010 Danny "Swift" Garcia

2011 Hammerin' Hank Lundy

2012 Danny "Swift" Garcia

2013 Danny "Swift" Garcia

Copy Right 2014 ι Wilkes Productions ι All Rights Reserved

Powered by Register.com